Posts Tagged ‘Hackfest’

Congratulations to all our hackers!

It can already be stated that Hackfest 2010 was a smash hit! As the dust settles on the event held this past Friday and Saturday in Quebec City, preliminary numbers indicate that over 300 people were in attendance, making Hackfest one of the most popular infosec events in Quebec.

Organizers upped their game by booking international caliber speakers and the two hacking contests were interesting and extremely competitive. Virtual Guardian would like to congratulate its employees that participated in these contests. Teams containing our hackers finished 2nd and 5th overall, an excellent showing! A tip of our cap to all participants.

Another shout out goes to event organizers who outdid themselves this year. We’re already looking forward to 2011! Various pictures taken throughout the event are available on www.hackfest.ca.

Hackfest: Only a few weeks away!

Have you signed up to Hackfest yet? The event which will be held November 5th and 6th at Quebec’s Classique Hotel promises this year to be “Harder, Better, Longer, Stronger”. And organizers seem to be doing good on that promise; this year’s edition will be held over 2 days rather than one and more lecturers have been booked than ever before. Come meet with other hacking aficionados and don’t forget to come see us at the Virtual Guardian booth! If you haven,t registered yet, you can do so by clicking here.

Did IDS and IPS die in 2003?

If so, what replaced them? These questions, and many more, will be answered during Eric Gingras’ conference at Hackfest 2010, next November 5th and 6th in Quebec City. M. Gingras, PhD, Virtual Guardian’s CTO, will share his views and opinions on the topic and bring to light several issues relating to IDS/IPS. We hope that you will be present to take in this conference which will be delivered in french (questions may be asked in english). For more details on Hackfest, you can consult the event’s website.

Gold partnership with Hackfest confirmed

Virtual Guardian is happy to announce its partnership with Hackfest 2010. This annual hacking competition will be held in Quebec City on November 5th and 6th. The event’s mission is to promote IT security to the general population and encourage discussion. “We are proud to sponsor Hackfest as we consider it to be a quality event promoting IT security in our industry,” said Patrick Boucher, Virtual Guardian’s President. For all details, please go to www.hackfest.ca.

Articles avec le tag ‘Hackfest’

Félicitations à tous nos hackers!

La poussière retombe tranquillement sur le Hackfest 2010 s’étant déroulé vendredi et samedi dernier à Québec et quel succès ce fut! Les chiffres d’affluence préliminaires parlent de plus de 300 participants ce qui en ferait un des événements les plus populaires de notre industrie au Québec.

La qualité des conférenciers était de calibre international et les concours étaient intéressants et extrêmement compétitifs. Cette année encore, Gardien Virtuel avait plusieurs employés inscrits aux concours. Les deux équipes qui contenaient nos analystes ont terminées en deuxième et cinquième places. Un gros BRAVO à tous les participants!

Félicitations aux organisateurs pour un événement franchement bien réussi! Des photos de l’événement sont disponible au www.hackfest.ca.

Plus que quelques semaines avant le Hackfest!

Etes-vous inscrit au Hackfest? L’événement qui se tiendra les 5 et 6 novembre prochains à l’Hôtel Classique de Québec promet d’être plus imposant en longueur (deux jours plutôt qu’un) et en qualité (plusieurs invités de marques) qu’à sa dernière édition. Venez rencontrer les passionnés de la sécurité des TI et n’oubliez pas de passer nous dire bonjour au kiosque Gardien Virtuel! Si vous n’êtes pas déjà inscrit, vous êtes invité à le faire ici.

La détection d’intrusions est-elle morte en 2003 ?

Si oui, qu’est ce qui les a remplacé ? Ces questions, et bien d’autres, seront répondues à la conférence d’Éric Gingras, PhD., au Hackfest du 5 et 6 novembre prochain à Québec. Éric Gingras, le directeur de la recherche et du développement chez Gardien Virtuel, partagera sa vision et ses opinions sur le sujet et soulèvera plusieurs points de discussion. Nous espérions vous y voir nombreux. Pour tous les détails vous pouvez consultez le site Web du Hackfest.

Partenariat Or avec le Hackfest confirmé

Gardien Virtuel est heureux d’annoncer son partenariat avec le Hackfest 2010. Sous forme d’une compétition de piratage éthique amicale, cet événement annuel a pour mission de sensibiliser et de promouvoir la sécurité informationnelle auprès de la population. “Les valeurs du Hackfest sont très près des nôtres. Nous sommes fiers de nous associer à un tel événement de qualité qui ne cesse de croître en popularité d’année en année.” déclara Patrick Boucher, Président de Gardien Virtuel. L’événement se tiendra le 5 et 6 novembre prochains à Québec. Pour tous les détails consultez le www.hackfest.ca.